veganmofo 10: The Battle With Yeast

15 Nov

I know, I’m a post behind.  No worries, I will make it to 20 before the end of mofo.  Hopefully.

Yeast scares me.  It’s picky, needs water to grow, and it’s alive!  Sort of. 

The first time I tried to make bread was the rosemary foccacia recipe out of V-Con.  It was a disaster.  The bread didn’t rise at all because I put the yeast in boiling hot water.  I don’t differentiate very well between warm and hot.  If I say I want a warm drink, I really mean I want a hot drink.  Anyway, the dough didn’t rise.

The second time, I boiled some water and let it sit.  It was still too hot.  The bread did rise a bit but I don’t think it rose as much as it should have.  As a result, the bread wasn’t soft enough and didn’t have very many air pockets.

So I did what any geek/nerd/techie would do.  I bought a food thermometer.

And I made pizza!

Technically, it’s the flatbread from Chef Chloe’s blog, but… technicalities!  It was amazing (although I discovered that yeast has a taste.  Am I crazy?)  I still managed to screw this recipe up although the yeast worked out perfectly.  Note to self: yeast works best in what I would define as “almost room temperature water”.  It doesn’t even qualify as warm.

Anyways, I handwrote out the ingredients and a sketch of the steps.  I added a cup of water to the yeast.  Then added another cup of water to the flour mixture.  See the problem?  Too much water… ugh.  So I doubled all the ingredients (except the yeast – it was my last package and besides, what was I supposed to do… add another cup of water to another package of yeast?)   Either way, doubling the rest of the dough ingredients worked out well.  The flatbread was all yummy and amazing and the combination of butternut squash and apples is seriously the best thing ever. 

And now, I have another excuse to re-make this recipe – to try out the flatbread with the right ingredients!  Ha!

I also made cinnamon raisin bagels:

This is from the recipe on Bankrupt Vegan for veganmofo!  It turned out okay although as you can see, I had issues getting my bagels to stay in a circular shape.  I also don’t know what I did wrong, but not all of the dough cooked right, there’s some darker spots you can sort of see that aren’t cooked.  I don’t know if I boiled them too long or something.

But they taste pretty good so no complaints 🙂  Unfortunately, I have decided that I absolutely hate kneading dough.  Ugh.  I need one of those bread machines or something!  Yeah… I have too many gadgets in my kitchen already… eek!

One Response to “veganmofo 10: The Battle With Yeast”

  1. Tiffany November 15, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    The pizza looks tasty! I’m glad the flatbread worked out for you. 🙂 I actually used to hate baking bread because of similar yeast-related frustration, but I finally got the hang of it and pretty much love it now, including kneading haha. If you happen to have a stand mixer with a dough hook attachment, you can always use that to knead dough rather than doing it by hand.

Leave a Reply

