Vampire Story #24361: Chapter 2 – Putting Together the Missing Pieces

5 Apr

I have to find out what I, Karen Thornley, who has only ever dated and slept with one Tyler Stoern, decided to do last night. I pick up the phone and speed dial my best friend since grade school.

“Hello,” Lisa answers the phone, sounding just about as good as I feel right now.

“Hey Lis,” I reply. “So…” I trail off, wondering how to start. Even with your grade school best friend, asking if you made out with a random stranger while you were drunk is going to be awkward, especially as the roles are typically reversed.

“What’s up?” she asks, ever so perceptive. “How you feel?”

“Like hell,” I reply. “I don’t think I’ve felt this bad in a long time.” I hesitate. “I kind of don’t remember most of the night.” I hope she gets the hint. I don’t think I could just come right out and ask.

I hear jagged laughter over the phone. “Yeah, you were so gone. I don’t think I’ve seen you that drunk before.” I didn’t need her to tell me that. “I think you hit on every single guy in that bar. Maybe even some who were taken. Damn but you were kissing random strangers.” Oh great. “It was like watching you but not really watching you, if you know what I mean. You’ve never been that type of person.”

What type? “Did I leave with someone?” I give up trying to be coy and ask Lisa directly. What the hell, she probably already knows why I’m calling and I don’t really have the patience today to hang on to the phone as she leads me in a circle. She has been known to do that occasionally.

“Yeah,” she replies, and I can almost hear the smirk in her voice. “You were up against that really cute, brown haired one. Then you both left together and we kind of figured that you would be okay.”

Gee, thanks. What if he turned out to be a serial killer? I know it’s not likely, but what if?

“Besides, you all but pushed Carol away when she went to make sure that you wanted to leave with him.” Oops, I guess it was my fault that my friends left me alone. “So what did you do after?” Lisa continues.

“I don’t really know. It’s kind of vague. I work up on my couch this morning. Alone.”

“Huh,” she replies. “Well, I guess you’ll never know unless you see him again.”

“Yeah, sure, whatever.” I’m sure that I’ll never see the guy again. I don’t even recall what he looks like so if I ever come across him, I wouldn’t recognize him anyhow. But I just know that I’ll be looking at every reasonably cute, brown haired guy to see if he could be the one.

“Anyway, I take it you got home okay? The two of you looked pretty tight last night. I guess you never saw him this morning?”

“Yeah, like I said, alone.” An edge creeps into my voice. I already told her I woke up alone this morning. I wouldn’t lie about this. Maybe.

“Hey, no worries. I’m not exactly one to judge.” I hear a thunk in the background. “Shit, I’ve got to go. Matt just did something.” The phone clicks.

Matt who? I wonder. Oh yeah, the one she met at the bar last weekend and brought home. Her roommates love that she brings random guys home all the time. Matt’s lasted a week, I guess. That’s definitely commitment for Lisa. She’s a one-night-stand kind of girl.

Although after last night, I don’t think I’m allowed to judge anymore. At least she’s never called me the next day trying to figure out if she slept with someone the night before. She knows who she’s sleeping with and she’s perfectly fine with her one night stands.

Do I call this growing up or sliding backwards really fast?

Leave a Reply

